May 30

My wife is friends with a guy who always posts on Facebook about the calories he burns working out. Yesterday he also posted about that, but then checked in at KFC, McDonald’s, and a candy shoppe. When asked about this, he said that he was trying to get his target calories of 1,900. What a joke. If it wouldn’t annoy my friends I would post everyday that “ALL CALORIES ARE NOT CREATED EQUAL!” 500 calories of a burger from McCancer’s is not the same as 500 calories from cashews, avocado, fruit, or beans. Furthermore, you cannot eat at McDonald’s with any regularity and be healthy . . . it is impossible (you can be skinny, but that’s a long way from healthy).

I am really struggling with how to train for my marathon starting late July. I am going to have to do a lot of researching the plans to decide what is best for my goals.

Since starting CFE full-time 2.5 weeks ago, I am just in a perpetual state of dull soreness (which I don’t mind). Today it is my traps and legs (my legs are always sore, it just alternates between my quads and hamstrings, which I guess means CFE is doing what it’s supposed to).

I have decided to end my cut with a full 5-7 day juice fast. More to come on that.

Now to my morning workout woes. This morning I was reminded that there may not be a worse feeling in the world than getting to the bottom of a squat and realizing you have taken on too much weight. I didn’t think I was going to be able to stand, but thanks to some poor form I did. I am lucky I didn’t really hurt my back. Stupid rookie mistake. My back also popped a little again while kipping. Finally, I found another exercise I can’t really do: toe to bar.

Made one of my favorites tonight . . . roasted veggies. Vegan comfort food.

20120530-222623.jpg

Training
CFE WOD
wu: 10:07
recover/set-up: 5:54
strength: ME back squat work up to 3RM: weight = 2 reps at 195 (too heavy) backed off to 165 x 3:
time: 6:09
rest: 5:00
strength and conditioning: 5-4-3-2-1 reps for time:
back squat (70% of 3 rep max): weight = 135, chest to bar pull-up, toe-to-bar
time: 8:14
total time: 35:25

Diet
post-workout: recovery pudding, coffee
lunch: red lentils w/garlic and onions
dinner: roasted veggies (zucchini, onions, sweet potatoes, mushrooms, carrots) w/dill and a little evoo
snack: brown rice crackers, orange juice, LaraBar

Leave a Reply

