September 7

I ended up doing my run this morning later than I had hoped due to my wife having a dentist appointment. I started around 8:45. It was hot. Really hot. Things just didn’t click as well as they did last week, probably for several reasons. I started out wanting to go slow, which happened. I aimed for 10:00 mpm and ended up at 10:04 per mile. The last mile was one of the toughest I can remember. My body had just decided enough was enough. The run made 3 things quite clear to me:

1. My body is still recovering from being sick this week.

2. I need to really dial in my diet to get back to the mid 170’s. That will improve my running conditional more than minimally.

3. I need to really work to get all of my workouts in. I have struggled lately (some of which is out of my control).

I used AccelGel for the first time halfway through. Not sure I could tell that much of a difference.

I was pretty wasted for the rest of the day. Tomorrow may be a necessary unplanned rest day.

Training
12 mi run
actual: 12.01
time: 2:01:01
pace: 10:04 mpm

Diet
pre-run: blended salad (spinach, avocado, banana, rice vinegar, chia seeds, hemp, dates, lemon juice)
post-run: coconut water, handful of hazelnuts
lunch: veggie burrito, chips
dinner: leftover spinach quesadilla from the other night, beans, rice, guac
snack: Gatorade, grapes, chips, guac, pineapple, sesame sticks

About super Stevo

Regular ol' social worker living the dream.

Leave a Reply

