December 30

Well, another year has come and gone. This year was awesome. I did my first tri and my first marathon. I plan for this to be only the beginning of my endurance sports life. I am very, very excited for 2013 and all it has in store from a race perspective. I will update the blog with my 2013 race plans in the next few days. I have it nailed down except for a mid-summer race. I may or may not make that decision before the summer rolls around.

This Christmas has treated me very well. I have been able to get everything I needed to be fully equipped to enter into tri season. As I said the other day, I got a wetsuit. I also just ordered a tri-suit. I am a little concerned with the sizing though, so I may return it if it doesn’t fit well. I also finally got my tri shoes in. They are Pearl Izumi IsoTransitions, and I love them. I haven’t run in them yet, but just going around the house they feel great. I will do a little running in them (maybe just on the treadmill) this week. I also gave my wife a VitaMix for her bday yesterday. While she loved it, I do too. I am excited to add it into my daily food preparation. I also swung by BikeTown and picked up the skewer, training tire, and block to finish out our trainer setup.

20121230-180144.jpg

Our newest family member.

New PI IsoTransitions

New PI IsoTransitions

Trainer ready to induce misery.

Trainer ready to induce misery.

Diet wise I am excited to start my wheat/sugar free diet this week. I will start on the 2nd and go until at least the 25th. See my training page for more details. I will do this for a few weeks hard-core, then continue with a version of it (depending on how January goes) through the spring until my half-iron training starts in June. I will do more research before then, but I plan on working toward a state of fat-adaptation for that long race. More on that to come closer to that time.

Either way, I will slowly add in CrossFit Endurance again this week as time permits (traveling some) then go full out CFE as prescribed starting next Monday, and that is what I will rely on for training through May.

About super Stevo

Regular ol' social worker living the dream.

Leave a Reply

