January 6

I slept really hard, and was really dehydrated when I woke up. This prompted me to do some quick searching for ketosis and dehydration. The results were interesting – I am more than likely dehydrated because the water in my body is being over-recruited to my kidneys to help filter out the keytones produced . Does a diet that leaves you dehydrated without any exercise to speak of doesn’t seem that natural to me? I just keep asking myself whether this high-fat, low-carb diet is a good long-term answer, and if it is actually healthy at all. I don’t want to accidentally fall into the paleo camp . . . there is far too much flawed science behind that diet. I need to do much more research. I have no problem abandoning the sugar and grains . . . but carbs altogether?
I realize I may swing completely back the other way by the time I wake up tomorrow, since I have been all over the map on this in just the first 5 days. I will stay the course for this month to see how my body responds, especially in an attempt to get rid of this visceral fat, and I want to see how fad-adaptation impacts my performance athletically. But I have had such success (both athletically and from a weight loss perspective) with a full plant-based (vegan) diet, using lots of fruits and beans that I don’t know if I am ready to abandon that altogether. Common sense (and research) tells me that dairy and eggs just aren’t good for you in the long-run over time. I guess you can see that I am wanting to tear my hair out at this point.

I guess that’s where I am now. I will stay the course through this month and see how I feel. I will get my blood work done in February and see what that looks like. My doctor is a fan of an Adkins diets, so I don’t think he will be much help in my decision, so this is going to be something I have to do on my own . . . which is something I haven’t done a lot of during this process. I have relied on others to guide me, train me, etc. This year is a year I will guide myself in these areas, so maybe this is just my first opportunity to do that. I just don’t know.

Thanks for sticking around through that period of self-exploration today. Now onto the regular stuff.

No run today. I’ll start with a clean slate tomorrow full force with CrossFit Endurance.

Training
none

Diet
breakfast: 2 eggs fried in butter, coffee
lunch: smoothie – coconut milk, almond milk, almond butter, kale, frozen raspberries, spirulina, rice protein
dinner: big salad (greens, avocado, peppers, cucumber, dressed with squeezed orange), spaghetti squash w/ tomato sauce
snack: cashew butter, creme fraiche, blueberries

About super Stevo

Regular ol' social worker living the dream.

Leave a Reply

