July 16

sleep time: 7:41
sleep quality: 65%

Not a great night’s sleep. For whatever reason, I got up 4 times to go to the bathroom. Very unusual for me.

My run today was great. My energy was really good, and I felt my form was really working well. I had someone at the gym comment that I was running in a minimalist style. Whatever that means, it is the first time I can remember that a comment was made about my running that was not along the lines of “you run like a caveman.” On my third interval I was running faster, but felt smoother and used better form than I have in a while. I did touch zone 4 (170) after my fourth interval, so I slowed it down on my last few. The rest of my intervals hit right around 165-167 HR at the end. I possibly attribute the energy in this run to the 3 strawberries I had an hour before. To call that “trickling sugar” might be a little heavy handed, but I do think that amount of carbs was readily available once I kicked it into zone 3-4. That’s good to know, and I will play with it a little. I may do next week’s 800s either faster or all on fat to see if there’s a noticeable difference.

I bought a new HR monitor this morning. I got it for almost $60 off. I am really excited to finally have one that does time and HR. I hope to get it in time for next week’s bike TT/brick.

For dinner I went a little crazy and had some basmati rice. I’m curious to see its effect.

Training
run: 800s
wu: 10:00
7 x 800 – work:active recover = 1:1
3:48
3:50
3:40
3:40
3:45
3:44
3:46
cd: 10:00
total time: 1:12:30
total distance: 7 mi

Diet
breakfast: coconut flour pancake, 3 strawberries, almond milk
lunch: salmon cake, salad (undressed) – spinach, purple/white cabbage, tomato, small amount of carrots, cucumber, avocado, bell pepper
dinner: spinach, avocado, basmati rice, black beans, homemade horseradish dressing, asparagus
after dinner: coconut cups (homemade)

About super Stevo

Regular ol' social worker living the dream.

Leave a comment