August 13

It’s amazing how a night of terrible nutrition can throw you off so much. I am still a mess from Sunday night. I made the mistake of doing the “pyramid” run this morning completely fasted. I think I am still at a pretty big calorie deficit from yesterday, so I struggled with energy. It wasn’t a terrible run, but I felt like I was working a lot harder than low zone 3 (which is what most of the mile intervals were done in). Ran each mile in 8:30 – 9:00 pace. I ran on a local high school track. Nothing like being passed by the girls soccer team to boost your self-confidence.

I had some more stomach cramping right after the run, but went away pretty quickly with coffee and HWC. I really need to dial it in this week food wise, which is challenging since I am on the road all week. I was feeling good today and ended up piling in the calories.

Despite how my run felt, my swim was really, really good. I felt great in the water, tons of energy, felt good after, etc. I feel like I have finally turned a corner with swimming. I held a solid pace throughout the entire TT. I am finally starting to get close on the prescribed times for my swims (although I’m not worried really about that).

I went to watch the baseball game with a friend tonight and ended up eating some blue corn chips with some queso.

Training
AM: interval run – “The Pyramid”
wu: 10:00
all intervals done on 200m recover
1 x 1600
4 x 400
2 x 800
4 x 400
1 x 1600
cd: 10:00
total time: 1:25:09
total distance: 8 mi

PM: TT swim
wu: 500 yd + 8 x 50 on 15″ rest
2000 yd TT = 35:41
cd: 300 yd
total distance: 3200 yd
total time: 1:01:08

Diet
post-run: coffee w/HWC
breakfast: smoothie – coconut milk, hemp hearts, pea protein, creatine, dandelion greens, bok choy, cherries, apple, almond butter
post-swim: kambucha, stuffed olives, raw cheese, guacamole
dinner: omelet (4 eggs), coconut oil, onions, mushrooms, arugula, goat cheese
after dinner: blue corn chip nachos, coconut flour lemon bread

About super Stevo

Regular ol' social worker living the dream.

Leave a Reply

