August 23

Wow, this week has been crazy at work. I’m glad this worked out to be a lighter training week, but the workouts pick up a lot this weekend. I have been all over the place on my nutrition, eating a lot at work. I have added in some grains in the form of a couple of tortillas, as well as a few corn chips. I intend to go into this in my blog Sunday, but the last 4 weeks of my training will be incredibly tight from a diet perspective.

My run this morning was really good. It was pretty hot going out, but the wind helped on the way back. I ran out on the lake road, which is pretty hilly. I had coffee w/EVCO before I left as well as 4 strawberries and a salt stick. It worked out perfectly. I took the hand water bottle with me and finished it with about a mile to go, but I gave a couple of drinks to my friend who ran with me the first 40 minutes or so. I didn’t even come close to zone 3 until the last 20 minutes or so. I am happy with my HR and glad to see my z2 runs are now consistently in the 10-11 mpm range.

My swim, on the other hand, was a disaster. Well, if you can even call it a swim. I got in the water intending to hammer out the 4000yd workout I missed Tuesday. 50 yards in my shoulder was killing me. I spent the rest of my warmup trying to figure out a way to swim without it hurting. I decided that it was not a good idea to try to train through any type of pain, so I got out of the water after 300 yds, extremely frustrated. I guess I will stay out of the water at least until next week, and may go to the chiro about it Monday if I can. I do feel the most comfortable about the swim at this point, so I am not that upset about having to miss out, but I this was the heaviest swim week of the program. The swims begin tapering off next week, so I wish I could have done these workouts. Oh well, I just need to do what is needed to get my shoulder ready for the race. Ugh.

Training
AM: 2 hr Z2 run
distance: 11:08 mi
pace: 10:49 mpm
HR avg: 141

PM: abbreviated swim
distance: 300 yd
time: 5:51

Diet
pre-run: coffee w/EVCO, 4 strawberries
post-run: smoothie – almond milk, coconut milk, 1/4 frozen banana, frozen raspberries, strawberries, flax seed, walnuts, kale, arugula, spinach, pea protein, creatine, chia seeds
dinner: mexican restaurant – chips, stuffed peppers, rice, beans, guacamole enchilada
after dinner: organic popcorn

About super Stevo

Regular ol' social worker living the dream.

Leave a Reply

