September 23

I have been really lacking on my updates for this blog. There are several reasons for that. First, I have done nothing in the realm of health or exercise that is consistent. Second, I have been really doing some evaluation of my diet lately. I have decided which direction I am going, and am dedicated to update this blog again with all of the good, bad, and ugly.

This training will look very much like my previous plan with a few exceptions. I realized that I bit off more than I could chew with the crazy schedule of twins, work, etc. This training program is being designed with Mark from Simply Human Lifestyle. The training is meant to build muscle mass, lose fat, and work on my metabolic efficiency that is out of whack due to lack of muscle, stress, erratic sleep, etc. My workouts, for the time being, will be 3-5 times a week and be around 30 minutes in duration. I will focus on one main lift per day (press, squat, bench, dead), mobility, and some walking or slow running/biking in small quantities. I will also mix in some speed work or high HR workouts (time permitting). After MUCH discussion and debate, I have decided, at least initially, to include more animal products than I have in the previous 3 years. This is due to several reasons which I won’t detail here, but the main one being we are wanting to have discussions with our children about responsible meat consumption as they get older, and we want to give them the opportunity to eat certain foods at home so they make good choices in the future. Any animal product I consume will be of high quality and sustainable if possible (i.e. grass-fed, free range, organic, etc.).

I realize I may get killed over this from some people, but this is where I am in my life, and this is a personal choice I have made. I do not take these decisions lightly and will continually assess to see if changes need to be made.

I will still consider myself to be plant-based. My main sources of nutrients will continue to come from vegetables, low-glycemic fruits, nuts/nut butters, seeds, oils (primarily coconut oil), and a few beans and legumes. I will severely limit grains and sugars, with the exception of occasional rice.

So, let’s get started.

 

In bed around 11:30 last night, up at 6:30. I woke up at 1:00 for about 15 minutes with one of the girls.

Training
wu: 5:00
3 x 10 shoulder press @ 65 lbs
alternated red band stretch between sets
mobility: 7:00

Diet
pre-workout: black coffee, white rice w/butter, tbsp HWC, cinnamon, hemp hearts
post-workout: cauliflower and cheese (made like mac n cheese)
snack: small apple, almond butter
dinner: fish “sticks” (homemade) – cod breaded in almond and arrowroot fried in coconut oil, cabbage slaw, horseradish
after dinner: dark chocolate

About super Stevo

Regular ol' social worker living the dream.

Leave a Reply

