January 1

How cliche’, posting on January 1st.

Yes, I am starting a new training program. Not because it’s the first of the year, but because the race I am training for (Run the West half-marathon) is April 23rd, and that puts my 16 week training schedule starting the 3rd. I am beyond ready to get back into it. If I were to make excuses (which I might be doing), I would express dismay in my small mouth issues that grew into a debilitating issue for my training. But, I am over it now. Fully healed (knock on wood). I have had several failed training attempts over the many months. This bothers me about myself. But I need to put that behind me and move on to the next phase: my “return” (drama intended). I am read to run, literally.

I am returning from the dark side. I think I have mentioned a few times that I have added a little meat back in here and there for different reasons. Well, personally I regret it. I found zero positives from doing it. It made me feel gross, and it just didn’t do what I hoped it would. So I am back to plant powered. I will continue occasional fish (don’t like it that much, so I won’t overdo it), and occasional grass-fed beef until we run out of what we foolishly bought a year ago (not much left, and I just cannot bring myself to throw it out), but otherwise I will be 100% vegetarian/pescatarian.

I have selected a 16 week training program developed by Garmin. It is a 6-7 workout per week program: 3-4 runs (alternating between z2, interval, interval z2, and pace runs), and 3 strength (from Brendan Brazier’s Thrive Fitness program). This is a long program for a half-marathon, but it will hopefully do several things for me.

  1. Slowly develop my aerobic base
  2. Prevent injury
  3. Prevent muscle loss
  4. Prepare me for longer races throughout the year
  5. Get me back to a good race weight (180ish lbs).

After running this race, I will immediately work toward 1-2 sprint triathlons, at least on Olympic tri, then perhaps a full marathon by the end of the year. This is all TBD.

Nutritionally I will focus mainly on plants, limited grains and sugars. Back to basics, nothing crazy. Real food. I will not focus on fat adaptation for a race of this distance.

It’s good to be back.

About super Stevo

Regular ol' social worker living the dream.

Leave a Reply

